SYLVAIN RIEU-PIQUET

SYLVAIN RIEU-PIQUET



Sylvain Rieu-Piquet's graphic work is the result of a fertile meditation on the dynamics of growth of living matter. Harping back to a pre-reflexive state of conscience, Rieu-Piquet reconnects with a natural order and complexity, graphically translating these shapes onto paper. His patterns are biomorphic and complex; arborescent processes, curved structures and movements of proliferation expand over the surface of the tracing paper — which is most often large scale — evoking an unconscious form of writing or the growth process of a plant. This aesthetic of morphogenesis relies on a display of familiar though never specifically distinguished shapes, (roots, radiolarians, fractals, wreaths of smoke, flower buds) which closely emulate an embryonic state of matter, their inconsistency and pliancy making them fit for a play of metamorphoses. Rieu-Piquet's relentless sense of detail and attention to minutia give birth to the iconography of an imaginary nature which frees itself from naturalist representations. The ornamental elegance of his compositions do not distract the viewer from the profound work of reinvention that is at hand, as the artist replicates nature's technical sophistication to produce his own shapes. From swarming sculptures to Manueline drawings, both baroque and minimal, his work stages an imaginary space for forms of natural life to engage with the extraordinary complexity of their origins.

Rieu-Piquet commits to exploring a drawing with no pre-set design or intention, giving free expression to the unpredictable or the accidental branching out. Nevertheless, he does not give way to total spontaneity. Patience is his method as he fully devotes his attention to the minute variations of his demented frieze, immersing himself in a fertile and active poetic musing which Bachelard would describe as an absorption of conscience:
" An image places itself at the heart of our imagining being. It detains us, clings to us. It instills our very being. Conscience is hereforth conquered by this single object of the world – an object which, in itself, represents the world.”
Rieu-Piquet, with both an alert and scattered mind, fashions and unravels his amorphous representations almost to the point of obsession. From the miniature L'ile des Ravissements, where hundreds of details of the setting and figures of characters intertwine, to his Calques series, which are, on the contrary, carried out with a scarcity of matter, Rieu-Piquet displays his compulsive penchant for detail and neat finish. As his conscience expands, so does the scrupulous propagation of his imaginative world.

Halfway between Haeckel's plates and Caillois's magic nature, Rieu-Piquet's compositions freely play with the tension between nature's set order — its codified design — , and the contingency of its spontaneous developments, that is, its singular plasticity. Influenced by the reference book by Arcy Thompson, On Growth and Form, the artist transfers the principles of generational physico-chemical into drawing in order to create hybrid and pseudo-natural shapes with no true natural equivalents. Departing from the observation and identification of growth mechanisms in organisms (plants, animals, humans) and of the laws of physics (crystallization, propagation of liquid), Rieu-Piquet comprehends nature as a matrix and an aesthetic model allowing him to imagine his elegant yet monstrous dream-like reticular visual universe.

Rhizomatic logic is explored in Rieu-Piquet's drawings to the extent of producing works lacking a center, a beginning, an end or any explicit meaning. These works are open to accidents or spontaneous developments and are, to a certain point, unfinished — or rather, they are infinite, as their center of gravity dissolve into whirls by way of detours and curls revealing a graphic instability inviting the viewer's gaze to glide and drift over the surface of these shapes. The use of tracing paper reinforces this effect by offering smooth expanses. The superposition of these sheets create a play of veils, further blurring identification of the various visible planes. Composition progresses from the center towards the margins in an irregular rhythm which undermines any narrative interpretation: shifting and slipping effects, concentration, dissolution turn the reading of these works into a meandering experience — literally. Moreover, Rieu-Piquet proceeds according to a metonomic principle: shapes within shapes thwart any individual linear development. The choice to favour large scale works are an invitation for the viewer to fully immerse himself and visually roam, unhindered. Rieu-Piquet's work enables the experience of a contemplative wandering at the heart of the microscopic yet manifold events of the living and gives birth to invasive figures of tremendous prolific power which do not fail to spill over into the mind of the captivated onlooker.

“Une image se met au centre de notre être imaginant. Elle nous retient, elle nous fixe. Elle nous infuse de l’être. La conscience est alors conquise par un seul objet du monde, un objet qui, à lui seul, représente le monde.” Gaston Bachelard, La Poétique de la rêverie, PUF: Paris, 1960. p. 132

translated by Helen Pownall










Multi-talented Sylvain Rieu-Piquet is trained as an applied arts teacher and also graduate of both ENSCI-Les Ateliers and the l’École normale supérieure de Cachan. A sense of detail runs through all the work of this discreetly observant designer. His creations are monolithic, sculptural and radical, timeless and universal, sustaining a complex order, a permanent tension between minimalism oad ornament, macro and microscopic design. This expansive order is perpetually moving, fluid and infinite, inspired by natural phenomena that generate motifs, placing gesture and making at the heart of his projects. Sylvain Rieu-Piquet is a prodigious explorer, expressing himself through both his knowledge of traditional techniques and his experimentation with new technologies, putting his manual talent at the service of creativity. His touch is both considered yet instinctive, like automatic writing, merging with the material to become one with it, inviting contemplation and typified by its emotional strength.


Eric Sébastien Faure Lagorce
Indépendant Curator
Extract from the catalog Mutations, Museum of Decorative Arts, Paris 2015

Biography

Born 1981
Works and lives in Paris

Exhibitions

2018

Akari Unfolded, Noguchi Museum, New York
group show with Ymer&Malta

2017

Absolute Tuberose, Christian Liagre, New York

2016

Novembre à Vitry, group show

2015

Mutations, Museum of Decorative Arts, group show

2014

Feu de tout bois, Galerie Ymer & Malta, group show
Art protects, galerie Yvon Lambert, group show

2013

Drawing Contest Pierre-David Weill, group show, Paris, First Price
Mineral Design, Lieu du Design, Paris, group show
Art protects, galerie Yvon Lambert, group show

2012

A fleur de Peau, Galerie Ymer & Malta, group show

2011

Un regard d’Obsidienne, Galerie Pierre-Alain Challier, group show
Carte blanche au Cerfav, Pantin, Solo show

2010

Prédictions, Biennale de design de Saint-Étienne, group show

2008

La Part des Anges, , Centre d’Art La Cuisine, Nègrepelisse, group show

2007

Design Parade 2, Villa Noailles, Hyères, group show

2006

Design Parade 1, Villa Noailles, Hyères, group show, Public Price with Wilfrid Minatchy

Fairs

2014

Design Miami Basel, Galerie Ymer et Malta
Art Dubai, Galerie Ymer et Malta

2013

Design Miami Basel, Galerie Ymer et Malta

SYLVAIN RIEU-PIQUET

SYLVAIN RIEU-PIQUET


L’œuvre graphique de Sylvain Rieu-Piquet est le fruit d’une rêverie féconde focalisée sur les dynamiques de croissance du vivant. En faisant retour à un état de conscience préréflexif, le plasticien renoue avec l’intuition d’un ordre et d’une sophistication naturelles dont il traduit graphiquement les formes. Biomorphiques et complexes, ses motifs dessinent des processus arborescents, des structures courbes et des mouvements de prolifération qui se répandent à la surface du calque, le plus souvent de grands formats, à la manière d’une écriture inconsciente ou d’un végétal qui croît. Cette esthétique de la morphogenèse déploie des figures familières bien que non spécifiquement identifiables (racines, radiolaires, fractales, volutes de fumée ou bourgeons en fleurs), proches d’un état embryonnaire de la matière, en un sens malléable et inconsistante, disponible à la métamorphose. A force de détails et de minutie, Sylvain Rieu-Piquet façonne l’iconographie d’une nature imaginaire, prenant clairement des libertés avec la représentation naturaliste. L’élégance ornementale de ses compositions ne saurait ainsi masquer le profond travail de réinvention qu’il entreprend, rivalisant de technicité avec la nature pour engendrer ses propres formes. De ses sculptures fourmillantes à ses dessins manuélins, alliant baroque et minimalisme, il met en scène dans son œuvre un micro-théâtre fantasmé du vivant qui renoue avec l’extraordinaire complexité de son origine.

Engagé dans la recherche d’un dessin sans dessein, Sylvain Rieu-Piquet laisse libre cours à l’imprévisible et à la bifurcation accidentelle, sans pour autant manifester une spontanéité totale. La patience comme mode opératoire, il focalise son attention sur les infimes variations de sa frise insensée, et plonge dans une rêverie poétique, aussi fertile qu’active, décrite par Bachelard dans les termes d’une absorption de la conscience: « une image se met au centre de notre être imaginant. Elle nous retient, elle nous fixe. Elle nous infuse de l’être. La conscience est alors conquise par un seul objet du monde, un objet qui, à lui seul, représente le monde. » . Entre éveil et attention flottante, le plasticien modèle des représentations amorphes qu’il déploie d’une façon quasi obsessionnelle. De L’Ile des ravissements, une miniature où s’enchevêtrent des centaines d’éléments de décors et de personnages modelés, jusqu’à ses Calques, réalisés au contraire avec une réelle économie de matière, Sylvain Rieu-Piquet affiche en effet un même goût compulsif pour la finition et le détail, comme si à la dilatation de sa conscience correspondait la propagation scrupuleuse de son imaginaire.
A la croisée des planches de Haeckel et du merveilleux naturel de Caillois, les compositions de Sylvain Rieu-Piquet jouent librement de la tension entre l’ordre nécessaire de la nature, son « design » codifié, et la contingence de ses développements spontanés, sa singulière « plasticité ». Influencé par l’ouvrage de référence de D’Arcy Thompson, On Growth and Form, le plasticien applique les principes physico-chimiques de génération au dessin pour créer des formes hybrides et pseudo-naturelles, sans équivalents véritables. Partant du constat de l’identité des mécanismes de croissance des organismes (végétaux, animaux, humains) et des lois physiques (la cristallisation, la propagation d’un liquide), Sylvain Rieu-Piquet envisage la nature comme un modèle esthétique matriciel, à partir duquel imaginer un univers visuel réticulaire, autant marqué son élégance que par son monstrueux onirisme.

Sylvain Rieu-Piquet pousse la logique rhizomatique de ces dessins jusqu’à produire des œuvres acentrées, sans début, ni fin, sans sens imposé, ouvertes à l’accident et aux développements spontanés. Dans une certaine mesure inachevés, ou bien plutôt infinis, leurs centres de gravité se dissolvent en tourbillons, en détours et en sinuosités, de façon à produire une instabilité graphique, propice à un regard diffus, qui glisse à la surface des formes. L’emploi de feuilles de calque renforce cet effet en proposant des étendues sans aspérité, dont la superposition crée un jeu de voilement qui trouble un peu plus l’identification du plan de visibilité. La composition progresse du centre vers les bords extérieurs selon un rythme irrégulier qui déjoue toute interprétation narrative : effets d’évasion, de concentration, de dissolution ou d’écart jalonnent en effet un parcours de lecture littéralement méandreux. Sylvain Rieu-Piquet procède, en outre, selon un principe métonymique, installant des formes dans les formes, qui contrarie encore davantage la linéarité de leurs développements individuels, tout comme le choix du grand format, privilégié dans son œuvre, donne l’occasion d’une immersion qui invite à une circulation visuelle sans repère. Proposant ainsi l’expérience d’une errance contemplative au cœur de la micro-événementialité du vivant, Sylvain Rieu-Piquet donne finalement corps à une plasticité invasive dont la force de prolifération s’étend à l’esprit de celui qui s’y perd.

Florian Gaité, 2016








Créateur polymorphe, Sylvain Rieu-Piquet est agrégé d’arts appliqués, diplômé de l’École nationale supérieure de création industrielle-Les Ateliers et de l’École normale supérieure de Cachan. Le sens du détail de ce discret observateur parcourt l’ensemble de ses créations. Monolithiques, sculpturales et radicales, intemporelles et universelles, elles sont le support d’un ordre complexe, tension constante entre minimalisme et ornement, entre dessin macro et microscopique. Cet ordre expansif, en mouvement perpétuel, fluide et infini s’inspire des phénomènes naturels de génération du motif et place le geste, le faire, au cœur de ses projets. Explorateur singulier, Sylvain Rieu-Piquet s’exprime par sa connaissance des techniques traditionnelles ou son expérimentation des nouvelles technologies, et prête ses talents manuels à la création. Certes réfléchi mais instinctif, son trait s’apparente à l’écriture automatique, se confond avec la matière pour le devenir lui-même, invite à la contemplation et se caractérise par sa puissance émotionnelle.

Eric Sébastien Faure Lagorce
Commissaire indépendant
Extrait du catalogue d’exposition Mutations au Musée des Arts Décoratifs, 2015

Biographie


Né en 1981
Vit et travaille à Paris

Expositions

2016

Novembre à Vitry, exposition collective

2015

Mutations, Musée des Arts Décoratifs, exposition collective
commissariat Eric-Sébastien Faure-Lagorce
Plat en faïence et émail ombrant réalisé avec Guy Eliche. Finaliste du Prix Liliane Bettencourt pour l'Intelligence de la Main

2014

Feu de tout bois, Galerie Ymer & Malta, exposition collective
Art protects, galerie Yvon Lambert, exposition collective

2013

Novembre à Vitry, exposition collective
Prix de Dessin Pierre-David Weill, exposition collective, Paris, Premier Prix
Mineral Design, Lieu du Design, Paris, exposition collective
Art protects, galerie Yvon Lambert, exposition collective

2012

A fleur de Peau, Galerie Ymer & Malta, exposition collective

2011

Un regard d’Obsidienne, Galerie Pierre-Alain Challier, exposition collective
Carte blanche au Cerfav, Pantin, exposition personnelle

2010

Prédictions, Biennale de design de Saint-Étienne, exposition collective
commissariat : Benjamin Loyauté

2008

La Part des Anges, , Centre d’Art La Cuisine, Nègrepelisse, exposition collective
commissariat : Anthony Van den Bossche

2007

Design Parade 2, Villa Noailles, Hyères, exposition collective

2006

Design Parade 1, Villa Noailles, Hyères, exposition collective, Prix du Public avec Wilfrid Minatchy

Foires / Salons

2014

Design Miami Basel, Galerie Ymer et Malta
Art Dubai, Galerie Ymer et Malta

2013

Design Miami Basel, Galerie Ymer et Malta